Universitas 21 Scholarship for Professional Staff

The Universitas 21 (U21) Scholarship Scheme provides an award to professional staff of the University of Melbourne at UOM levels 8, 9 or 10. The scholarship recognises outstanding performance, provides development opportunities for the recipient and benefits the University through the advancement of its administrative and management practices.

In 2022 the selection committee allocated $12,500 for one scholarship to enable professional staff to develop their expertise, pass on their learnings, and strengthen links with other U21 institutions.

The Scheme is designed to encourage professional staff exchanges across participating institutions. Scholars spend up to two months engaged in a management project at U21 institutions and any additional universities outside the consortium. Where appropriate, scholars may also attend a relevant international conference or development program.

The undertaking of a significant management project is a core component of the award. The Scholarship awarded in 2022 needs to be taken up by 31 December 2023.

Read more about Universitas 21.

Priority areas

Applicants are encouraged to propose projects that are aligned with areas of strategic importance for the University in achieving its aspiration to be known as a world-leading and globally connected Australian university, with our students at the heart of everything we do. Alignment with the strategic goals of Advancing Melbourne 2030 should be outlined. Projects should emphasise how these aims can be achieved by supporting people, organising infrastructure and aligning resources.

Projects may involve benchmarking and the sharing of information that leads to new possibilities for the University, the development of collaborative projects and the creation of resources that might be used across the U21 network.


  • 2022 winner

    Ms Kathy Ryan, Student and Scholarly Services

  • 2021 winner

    Dr Mark Gregory, Chancellery Research & Enterprise

  • 2019 winners

    Ms Rachel Ramsdale, Chancellery Research & Enterprise

    Ms Tessa de Vries, Melbourne Graduate School of Education

  • 2018 winners

    Ms Karen Kealy, University Services

    Ms Joann Cattlin, Melbourne Graduate School of Education

  • 2017 winners

    Ms Barbara Slattery, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

    Ms Lisa Cornish, Mr James Cornish and Ms Therese Kosmer, Faculty of the Victoria College of the Arts and Melbourne Conservatorium of Music

  • 2016 winners

    Dr Gen Ford, Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning

    Ms Georgia von Guttner, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

How to apply

Applications for Universitas 21 Awards open Monday 24 July 2023 and close 12pm Monday 4 September 2023.

Updated guidelines and coversheets are below for 2023.

Download Application Guidelines

Download Application Coversheet

Further information

For further information regarding the U21 Scholarship please contact:

Georgia Pashias