The 2018 conference aims to encompass all aspects of innovation in tertiary education and capture the collaborative efforts we hope to nurture between industry, government and education providers to create the best outcomes for the tertiary education sector. This year’s conference will examine examples of innovation throughout the tertiary education sector as well as learnings which could be applied from other sectors.

With a highly interactive format, keynote speakers from within and outside the sector will provide insights into innovative activities which can be taken up more broadly.

Join us in Melbourne to celebrate the 10th Anniversary of the LH Martin Institute.

By the Sector, for the sector

  • Members for 2018

    With the support and backing of the Chief Operating Officer of the Australian Catholic University and Chair of the Deputy Vice-Chancellors Corporate, the steering committee members are:

    • Dr Stephen Weller, Chief Operating Officer, Australian Catholic University and Past President, Association for Tertiary Education Management.
    • Ms Janet Beard, Senior Honorary Fellow, LH Martin Institute, University of Melbourne
    • Prof Leo Goedegebuure, Director, LH Martin Institute
    • Mrs Suzanne Crew, Chief Executive Officer, University of New England Partnerships
  • Past members


    • Ms Lakshmi West, Director, Service Improvement Group, Australian National University. Read Lakshmi's blog article on digital disruption.
    • Mr Steve Paris, Executive Director, Students, RMIT Vietnam

    2015 & 2016:

    • Mark Williams, Strategic Projects Director, University of South Australia (Formerly)
    • Karen Hill, Director, Information Technology Services, The Australian National University (Formerly)


    • Ian Callahan, Chief Operating Officer, Curtin University

General Information

Enquiries and more information

For all conference related queries, please contact:

LH Martin Institute | Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education | Melbourne Graduate School of Education

E: martin-institute@unimelb.edu.au