We provide the tertiary education sector with career and capability development through an integrated set of programs, events and projects.

Our programs are unique in that they:

  • are contextualised to the tertiary education sector
  • provide practical examples that relate to participants' own situations
  • are led by practitioners in the field
  • arm participants with tools which can be applied immediately to their workplace
  • are informed by the latest research and resources on the tertiary education sector

We became part of the Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education in late 2014.

Postera Crescam Laude


We aim to develop more effective governance, leadership and management capacity in tertiary sector institutions, so that institutions may fulfil their missions more successfully.


To be recognised nationally and internationally as a leading centre of teaching and research excellence for the enhancement of tertiary education leadership and management.

Our People

Director's Welcome

Under the leadership of its Foundation Director, Professor V. Lynn Meek, the LH Martin Institute became known as the provider of choice for tailored and contextualised management and leadership programs for the tertiary education sector, underpinned by a strong research base.

It is my pleasure and challenge to now take the Institute to the next level through reaching out to an even larger and more diverse audience, within and outside Australia, to enable them to more effectively deal with the continuous pressures for change and innovation that are so pertinent to our sector.

Read more

Professor Leo Goedegebuure, Director of the LH Martin Institute

Professor Sir Leslie Harold Martin (1900-1983)

Sir Leslie Martin was an eminent physicist who became a key higher education adviser to the Menzies government.

He was Lecturer and Associate Professor in Natural Philosophy, and then Professor of Physics at the University of Melbourne (1927-1959). After leaving the University of Melbourne in 1959, he became Chairman of the Australian Universities Commission, a position he held until 1966.

Read more