Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision

Recognising excellence in the supervision of research higher degree candidates, in any discipline.

Award recipients are acknowledged for their outstanding achievements across the various dimensions of excellence in supervision: the extent and range of their supervision activities; the positive outcomes for their students; their respect and support for students as individuals; their support for students’ career development; and their broader contribution to the development of supervisory practice within their faculties or across the University.

This award was introduced in 2006. It is a named award, named each year in honour of a leading University researcher and supervisor, past or continuing, in a field related to the award recipient's research area.

The University confers one Award for Research Higher Degree Supervision annually. The award includes a trophy and a grant of $10,000.

How to apply

Honour Roll

  • 2006 The Jim Pittard Award

    Read about Emeritus Professor Jim Pittard

    Associate Professor Philip Batterham

    Department of Genetics / Bio 21, Faculty of Science in the area of Genetics of Insecticide Resistance – more

  • 2007 The Malcolm Smith Award

    Read about Professor Malcolm Smith

    Professor Tim Lindsey

    Melbourne Law School

    in the area of Asian Law more

  • 2008 The John McKennzie Award

    Read about Professor John McKenzie

    Professor Gordon Lynch

    Physiology, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

    in the areas of muscle physiology and physiotherapy – more

  • 2009 The Barbara Evans Award

    Read about Professor Barbara Evans

    Professor Rachel Webster

    Physics, Faculty of Science

    in the area of astrophysics – more

  • 2010 The Peter McPhee Award

    Read about Professor Peter McPhee

    Professor Kate Darian-Smith

    Historical Studies, Faculty of Arts

    in area of Australian history – more

  • 2011 The Frank Larkins Award

    Read about Professor Frank Larkins

    Professor Mark Elgar

    Department of Zoology, Faculty of Science

  • 2012 The Lyn Yates Award & The Peter Doherty Award

    The Awards Selection Committee opted to make two awards this year:

    Read about Professor Lyn Yates

    Associate Professor David Beckett

    Melbourne Graduate School of Education

    in the area of adults’ vocational education and training - more

    Read about Professor Peter Doherty

    Professor Stephen Kent

    Department of Microbiology and Immunology

    Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences

    in the area of the development and testing of HIV vaccines - more

  • 2013 The James Angus Award

    Read about Professor A James Angus AO

    Professor Mary Wlodek

    Melbourne School of Graduate Research

    Department of Physiology, Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry, and Health Sciences

    Mary Wlodek has made an outstanding contribution to the supervision of Research Higher Degree (RHD) candidates. As Deputy Dean, Melbourne School of Graduate Research, she provides training to new and experienced RHD supervisors on policies, procedures and best practice to support graduate researchers to successful completion. Mary has also led policy development and implementation to enhance RHD supervision and outcomes. Importantly, as a Professor in the Department of Physiology, Mary is well-known for her outstanding mentorship of RHD candidates to success in scholarships, travel grants, awards, first-author publications, timely completions, fellowships and academic positions. She champions the University's junior academics (graduate and early-career researchers) through convening the Start of Career and Early Career workshops.

  • 2014 Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision

    Associate Professor Andrew Melatos

    School of Physics, Faculty of Science 

    For his supervision that gives graduates superb technical and communication skills,

    mature research judgment, and broad scientific networks. Associate Professor Melatos has assisted students in forging careers inside and outside research, from international postdoctoral fellowships in physics to sought-after jobs in industry and government.

  • 2015 Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision

    Professor  Tim McCormack

    Melbourne  Law School

    For establishing a stimulating postgraduate research environment  that has produced a new generation of scholars and practitioners making a  profound contribution to international humanitarian law.

  • 2016 The Awards Selection Committee opted to make two awards this year

    The Awards Selection Committee opted to make two awards this year:

    Professor Marilyn Renfree - Faculty of Science (Accepted on behalf by Janet Hergt)
    Professor Robin Evans - Melbourne School of Engineering

  • 2017 Award for Outstanding Research Higher Degree Supervision

    Professor Kim Bennell, Professor Rana Hinman and Mr Tim Wrigley  Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health Sciences