Graduate Researchers

Current Graduate Researchers

 

Asma Ahsan

aahsan1@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Agenda setting and policy change in higher education research policy: A comparative analysis of the research ‘impact’ agenda in Australia and United Kingdom.'

Supervisor: Professor Leo Goedegebuure, and Professor Lynn Meek

Research interests: higher education and research policy, policy making process, research/policy gap, research 'impact' agenda, and research assessment.

 

James Ballard

ballardj@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Learner Enhanced Technology: Development of student engagement profiles to explore the intersection of learning design and learning technology.'

Supervisors: Professor Gregor Kennedy and Dr Tracii Ryan

Research interests: personalised learning, learning technologies, and learner analytics.

Robyn Barallon

Robyn Barallon

rmbarallon@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Discursive juxtapositions in constructive misalignment: hidden impacts of implementing constructively aligned curriculum in higher education.'

Supervisors: Dr Victoria Millar (MGSE), Associate Professor Chi Baik, Associate Professor Jason Lodge (The University of Queensland)

Research interests: learning and teaching in higher education, higher education curriculum, the relationship between knowledge, power and learning and, linguistic bias in assessment.

 

Matthew Brett

mbrett@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Heredity of Australian higher education financing legislation.'

Supervisor: Professor Richard James, and Professor Hamish Coates (Tsinghua University, China)

Research interests: higher education financing, higher education policy. higher education policy reform.

 

Samantha Byrne

samantha.byrne@student.unimelb.edu.au

D.Ed

'Pre-class learning in the flipped classroom.’

Supervisor: Associate Professor Kristine Elliott, and Associate Professor Heather Verkade (MDHS)

Research interests: the relationships between student preference and perceptions of different format of pre-class learning in the flipped classroom and student self-regulated learning behavior.

 

Jiadi Cai

jiadi@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

Supervisors: Associate Professor Chi Baik and Dr Tracii Ryan

Research interests: internationalisation of higher education.

 

Deborah Fitton

fittond@student.unimelb.edu.au

D.Ed

' "Pathway College" students and the challenges of engagement in Higher Education.'

Supervisors: Professor Gregor Kennedy and Professor Sophie Arkoudis

Research interests: student engagement, cultural interface, transition theory, and educational identity.

 

Sharon Hebdon

s.hebdon@student.unimelb.edu.au

D.Ed

'To what extent does working with student as co-creators of course content in real time engage them with their learning?'

Supervisors: Professor Sophie Arkoudis, and Associate Professor Kristine Elliott

Research interests: co-creation and student as partners.

 

Ai Tam P. Le

aitaml@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Exploring academic work values from the perspectives of doctoral students.'

Supervisor: Professor Leo Goedegebuure, and Dr Peter Woelert (MGSE)

Research interests: academic profession, academic work, and academic values.

Donia Malekian

dmalekian@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Temporal analytics for understanding students' study behaviours in digital educational environments.'

Supervisor: Professor Gregor Kennedy, and Professor James Bailey (MSE)

Research interests: machine learning, data mining, and learning analytics.

 

Samantha Marangell

smarangell@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'University students' experiences of an internationalised university.'

Supervisors: Professor Sophie Arkoudis and Associate Professor Chi Baik

Research interests: internationalisation of higher education, socialisation in education settings, language culture and identity, and second language acquisition.

 

Thomas Mathew

t.mathew@student.unimelb.edu.au

D.Ed

'Graduate attributes, experiences and outcomes in a (Masters) graduate entry-to-practice nursing degree course.'

Supervisors: Professor Sophie Arkoudis and Associate Professor Chi Baik.

Research interests: nursing education, clinical skill development, cultural safety, and student wellbeing.

 

Sadia Nawaz

nawazs@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Identifying students’ confusion in digital learning environments.'

Supervisor: Professor Gregor Kennedy, and Professor James Bailey (MSE)

Research interests: learning analytics, data mining, and machine learning.

 

Alisa (Hang) Nguyen

thin13@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Continuing Professional Development for the 21st Century EFL Lecturer in Vietnam Higher Education.'

Supervisor: Dr Gwilym Croucher

Research interests: continuing professional development in higher education, and motivation and wellbeing.

 

Catherine Pickett

c.pickett@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'What is TAFE's mission in Australia?'

Supervisor: Professor Leo Goedegebuure, and Professor John Polesel (MGSE)

Research interests: public vocational education and training policy and practice, regional education and training, social partnerships, system adaptation following disruption/opportunities, and construction of narratives.

 

Claudia Rivera

riverac@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'The first-year university experience of undergraduate students in Chile.'

Supervisor: Associate Professor Chi Baik, and Dr Ryan Naylor (USYD)

Research interests: first-year experience, student experience, teacher-student interactions, and higher education.

 

Joanne Russell

jrussell3@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Fostering self-regulated learning in Biomedicine.'

Supervisor: Associate Professor Chi Baik, Professor Elizabeth Molloy (MDHS), and Associate Professor Anna Ryan (MDHS)

Research interests: self-regulated learning and higher education.

 

Brice Shen

b.shen@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Understanding professional skill development: evaluating practical implementation of teaching graduate attributes.'

Supervisor: Professor Sophie Arkoudis, and Professor Andrew Ooi (MSE)

 

Peter Sorenson

p.sorenson@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'The use of visual imagery in students' choice of international university.'

Supervisors: Professor Gregor Kennedy and Associate Professor Chi Baik

 

Ben Symon

bsymon@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Early career academics' translation of professional learning experiences into their teaching contexts: a longitudinal investigation.'

Supervisors: Associate Professor Chi Baik and Associate Professor Mike Prosser

Research interests: teaching and professional development in higher education, reflective practice, and group learning.

 

Thao Vu

thaov@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Academic performance management and the nature of academic work: a proposal for Australian public universities.'

Supervisor: Professor Sophie Arkoudis, Professor Gabriele Lakomski (MGSE), and Dr Emmaline Bexley (La Trobe)

Research interests: academic work, learning and teaching in higher education, and higher education management.

 

S. Umesha Weerakkody

sweerakkody@student.unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Reshaping perspectives on the drivers of international student mobility.'

Supervisor: Professor Gregor Kennedy, Professor Hamish Coates (Tsinghua University, China), and Associate Professor Catherine Gomes (RMIT)

Research interests: international student mobility, transnational migration, internationalisation of higher education, critical globalisation studies, and higher education in developing countries.

 

Tom Whitford

t.whitford@student.unimelb.edu.au

D.Ed

Supervisor: Associate Professor Kristine Elliott and Marian Mahat

Research interests: Innovative approaches to business education, e-learning, online instruction and pedagogy, social constructivism, and effective learning design.

 

Paul Wiseman

paul.wiseman@unimelb.edu.au

PhD

'Task engagement in digital learning.'

Supervisors: Professor Gregor Kennedy and Dr Tracii Ryan

Research interests: psychological engagement and flow theory with application in current and emerging higher education learning environments, and work integrated learning.